Baby Hazel

I had a sneaking suspicion that Vanessa was going to have a baby boy.  I’m not entirely sure why I thought Vanessa was brewing a little gentleman, but I did.  Tom and Vanessa have a beautiful little girl, Lucy who has piercing blue eyes, curly blonde hair and a love of monsters.  Maybe I thought that a baby boy would be the perfect little sibling for Lucy.  I heard that Vanessa went in to labour on Wednesday and that night I had a dream about Tom and Vanessa’s baby – that they welcomed a beautiful baby girl into the world.  Thursday I woke to find that my dream had been true and baby Hazel was welcomed into their family!

newborn girl sleepin with floral headbandWhen I first met Hazel, I couldn’t get over how much she looks like her big sister Lucy did at the same age.  Though Hazel is certainly (for now!) much more of a brunette.

Newborn girl sleeping in a crate kissed by her sister

Hazel was perfection the entire time we were photographing together.  After an initial little cuddle to send her off into dream land, she barely peeked open her eyes to check what all the fuss was about.

Newborn girl sleeeping in a rustic boxTom and Vanessa have a really lovely home, and after Lucy was born, Tom rebuilt the back sun room, which is where we did the majority of our photos. It’s such a beautiful sun-filled space, and I just adore the dark wood floors and the butter yellow walls. This space has been in a few photoshoots before!

Newborn baby girl sleeping with clematisWe brought sleeping Hazel from the sunroom out to the front porch to photograph her with the blooming clematis, which Vanessa referred to fondly associating it with the birth of her new baby girl. I can imagine many years from now, Vanessa seeing the clematis blooming and telling Hazel all about the day in May that she was born.

Newborn girl and her familyI just love this family and seeing them grow is such a wonderful thing!

Leave a Reply

